20 Comments

Israel: Meet Nadav Guedj


Nudav GuedjIsrael – Nadav Guedj is the Israeli representative and he is the youngest performer of the contest this year. After winning “The Next Star” Nadav and the Israeli Broadcaster IBA went to Doron Medalie who wrote their entry “Golden Boy”. Nadav will be singing in the second semi final.

Song: “Golden Boy”
Composer: Doron Medalie

About Nadav Guedj:
Sixteen year old Nadav was born in Paris, France before moving to Israel as a child. Nadav doesn’t have much experience in the music industry due to his young age, and the fact that he is still in high school. However he auditioned for HaKokhav HaBa (The Next Star) and made the grand final and winning the show giving him the chance to represent Israel in Vienna. Nadav cites his musical influences as the likes of Justin Timberlake, Stevie Wonder and Bruno Mars.

Nudav Guedj

In the Next Star Final Nadev was able to beat off rivals Sari Nachmias, Avia ShoshaniIky and runners up Iky Levy & The Rasta Hebrew Men. “Golden Boy” was written by Next Star judge Doron Medalie and is 100% in English which will be a first for the country. Israel are currently 23rd favourite to win the contest.

Lyrics:
(Taken from eurovision.tv)

Mama, someone broke my heart again
Tell her I don’t think I can take it anymore
Mama, someone broke my heart again
Now I’m gonna ease my pain,
Dancing on the floor

Take me out,
I’m not in the mood for a broken heart
Gonna dance tonight, forget her
No, she doesn’t know
What I’m doing on the floor
Did you say hello, my ladies?

Pull me baby, I’m your trigger
You know that my love is bigger
Love, Love, Love
Let the rhythm take us higher
You know when I’m on fire
Check me out (3-2-1- hey!)

I’m a golden boy
Come here to enjoy
I’m the king of fun
Let me show you how we do it
I’m a golden boy
Come here to enjoy
And before I leave
Let me show you Tel Aviv

Hold me tight,
We’re not going home tonight
Oh yeah, do you like my dancing?
Pull me baby, I’m your trigger
You know that my love is bigger
Check me out (3-2-1- hey!)

I’m a golden boy
Come here to enjoy
I’m the king of fun
Let me show you how we do it
I’m a golden boy
Come here to enjoy
And before I leave
Let me show you Tel Aviv

This is how we do it…

Nadav Guedj on Social Media:
Facebook: Link
YouTube: Nadav Guedj Official

Last: Switzerland
Next: Norway

20 comments on “Israel: Meet Nadav Guedj

  1. #3

    Love this song… I bought it on iTunes and belt it out in the car.

    With security being tight on the Israeli reps these days I hope we get to see him around

  2. I wish him all the best but the songs is just a musical drivel. We had more than enough of that in the noughties.

    • When you say we had enough of that, do you mean drivel, or ethno shake?

      If the latter, surely the great thing about Eurovision is the diversity, and I’d like to see as many genres as possible.

      Heck, I hate Jazz, but even I liked Italy 2012.

  3. 4,5/10
    #31/40
    #16/17 in 2nd semi
    Prediction : 9-15 in semi
    Good luck!

  4. He seems to be a lovely guy and he has stage charisma.The song is 3 min of fun and while it’s not among my favorites,it would certainly help to liven things up in the final.For now,i feel it’s a non-qualifier.Good luck!

  5. My last place for 2015.

    And it is not because I necessarily have anything against the so-called “shake it” genre. I do like f.e. “Wild Dances”, “My Number One”, “Shady Lady” or “La La Love” – they were well crafted. It is fine as long as you can hear that there has been made an effort in terms of composition, production, lyrics etc. Unfortunately this is not the case here.

  6. I don’t like it…#35 on my list !

  7. Off topic : u know how much i like Albania ’15 ( #3 on my list) .. Here is Elhaida singing live I’m alive ! Do u like it?

  8. I’m really warming to Nadav and his song.

    At first I thought it was just disposable fluff; quite fun but totally lightweight. That’s sort of true, but some thought has gone into the structure of the song, teasing you with its tearjerker ballad intro, then ramping up into a dancey verse before arriving at the ‘ethno shake’ chorus. It would have been easy to stay with the ethno shake vibe to the end, but they revisit the earlier sections in slightly different ways, including an upbeat reprise of the intro.

    I’m overthinking it, aren’t I? It is just disposable fluff, isn’t it?

    “OK, we gotta go – 3 minutes! Bye bye!” – that made me chuckle.

  9. One niggly point: That line in the chorus should really be “Let me show you how it’s done” – you know, so that it rhymes like the rest of the chorus does!

    • Then it wouldn’t fit the tune

      • “Let me show you how it’s done” scans the same as “Let me show you Tel Aviv” so it would fit the tune fine. Plus it would rhyme. It doesn’t matter really, I just wondered why they made that choice. Perhaps they wanted to avoid the obvious!

  10. The most awful is that I can’t get out of my mind the refrain of this song :) :) My main problem with this entry is that some parts of the song sound really inspired by some famous tracks and the coorelation of some parts of the song is not made wise IMO!! Anyways goodluck to Israelian Golden boy!

Leave a Reply

