49 Comments

Douze Points Trivia Quiz: Day 2


The Eurovision Times – The summer remains a terrible time for Eurovision fans as it’s the season without any news. So the Eurovision times team has come up with a new game: a Trivia Quiz on European history, geography, culture and on Eurovision. Second day!

Each day, for a full week, we will publish ten questions of different difficulty. The first question will be the easiest and will be worth 1pt. The tenth question will be the toughest and will be worth 12pts!

Most questions will have answers around the Internet but not on Wikipedia. In a perfect world, there’s no need to cheat and look online but since there’s just no way for us to verify who looked where, there is no rule that says you can’t look online. After all, this quiz is only a summer fun game and if you end up learning something it’s good enough. We will be very suspicious though if you get every answer right every day!

After the week (and an extra week for people to vote in case they were busy one day or a few during the week), the points of each participant will be counted and we’ll announce a winner. What will he or she win? Not much, except the title of the Douze Points Trivia Quiz champion for a year, which is definitely something!

Of course, in the comment section you won’t get to give hints to one another or worse, give an answer. But you’ll still get to use the questions as excuses for more broad discussion.

Quiz.02~ TUESDAY ~

01 Which former Eurovision winner was a judge on Ireland’s 2008 Eurosong?
02 In which European country would you find a fort known as the Three Acorns by locals?
03 Which country’s first national final took place in a circus hall?
04 Jonatan Cerrada sang bits of his French entry in Spanish, but which is his nationality?
05 Originally, what does the word “balkan” mean in Turkish?
06 Name the 5 members of the European Union that are constitutionaly neutral?
07 Picture of the day: in which European country was it taken?
08 It is said that the geographical midpoint of Europe is just north of which capital city?
10 Which Eurovision participant had written the lyrics to his country’s national anthem?
12 Which European city was listed as an UNESCO World Heritage site for its downtown entirely made in reinforced concrete?

Picture of the day:

Now it’s your turn to play! You’ll get to give your answers by email on our new address, eurovisiontimesesc@gmail.com or via the feedback messagery below!

49 comments on “Douze Points Trivia Quiz: Day 2

  1. This time I tried to be more …brave and submitted three answers (5,6,8), although I’m not sure for any of them.

  2. Votes sent. :)

    This set of questions was a bit tougher than the first one imo because there are 2 questions for which I don’t have a single clue. One of them is the picture again. I have been to so many places but never to those ET selects for picture of the day. :(
    And once again, the 12 points question was the easiest by a mile imo. :)

    In one case I do not agree with the question (6). LOL … But I guess that I am simple not correctly informed on this topic.

  3. I’m positive that I know 5 and 10 (what a surprise, considering the answers), and I’m pretty sure that I know 1, 3, 4, and 8. Overall, I feel far more confident that I’ll get answers correct this time, which is a great thing, considering how stupid I felt yesterday.

  4. Oops, O wrote the comment in the wrong place. I should not be doing two things at the same time.

  5. Just asking; did you get my guesses yesterday? (yes, I am extremely careful in a nervous way, always triple-checking if I’ve locked the door :P )

    As for today, I know the 8 and 10 point question but not the 1 point…

  6. Some of these were very easy, I remember reading the National anthem one on the Eurovision site.

    I was only able to guess 4 for the neutrality one do you need all 5 to get any points or do you get some points for some correct answers?

    Had no idea about 12 either.

  7. Answers submitted, except I have no idea about the circus hall question.

  8. @Marc

    I’ll put the Eurolaul 1996 comment here. Not that I think it’s necessary because your comments were great enough (especially about Pearu Paulus‘ clothes). ;)

    Eurolaul 1996 was extremely bizarre in that environment. Especially because I wouldn’t expect any of the songs from that year to be played on that place otherwise. Also, a real pity with the playback. Haven’t seen that in any national final except the Danish MGP in the mid-80’s. Let’s just hope we’ll never have to experience that again. I suspected it throughout the whole show, but it was in first in the last performance it was revealed, when Tõnis sang the last note without holding the microphone at his mouth, but you could still hear him. Still, I like many of the songs from that year because of the wide field they represent.

    1. Evelin Samuel & Toomas Rull – “Kaheksa näoga kuu”: I like this one. It has a mysterious arrangement that I enjoy particulary well and while I can agree that it’s a bit repetitive; it still has a hypnotizing tune. (8/12)

    2. Kadri Hunt – “Me rõõm ei kao”: The best ESC-related Estonian song ever! A wonderfully fragile and soaring ballad. If she just had been sitting at a piano, the picture had been perfect. But consider how stressed they were, I guess they had no time. (12/12)

    3. Üllar Meriste – “Iialgi veel”: While I liked this one in studio version for being such an innovative song taking different turns all the time; from the sax intro to the rock parts, I must say that the performance was underwhelming. Not only was Üllar himself not that nice watching on stage, looking mostly like an ogre in a suit. And he didn’t seem that interested in what he was doing either. (5/12)

    4. Hedvig Hanson & Pearu Paulus – “Meeletu algus”: Or “Kallim kullast: The Sequel”. Seriously, there’s NOTHING new in this one. Just a somewhat different melody. It’s still a nice and pretty song and the two singers are both very good (and they’re not holding their hands this time!). But I’ll give it one minus for being such an uninspired copy that it goes down from (7/12) to (6/12).

    5. Urmas Podnek – “Vaba kui tuul”: Or “Eighties coming back”… Once again, a long-haired guy doing rock. This song has a more standard musical line than “Iialgi veel” and I like Urmas better as a singer. Perhaps, it feels old-fashioned and corny, but I like the straightforward turns in this. (6/12)

    6. Evelin Samuel, Karl Madis, Maarja-Liis Ilus & Pearu Paulus – “Kummalisel teel”: To be honest, I never noticed the big age difference you mentioned. Because I was sitting zzzzzzz… This song has no possibility to keep my attention. It’s just thin air, that someone has put music into. And the arrangement is kinda strange. It sounds like people are talking in the background all the time. At least I give them credit for their vocal harmonies. (4/12)

    7. Ivo Linna & Kadi-Signe Selde – “Lihtne viis”: I copy and paste what you wrote about the performance, with poor Kadi-Signe trying to communicate with Absent Ivo. But I’d also like to comment the backing singer rocking with his air guitar :D . The true star of the night. As for the song, it is a simple song (as the title tells us) nicely put together with guitar arrangement. Nothing special but nice. (6/12)

    • Yes, despite its inconsistency, 1996 was certainly the year that Eurolaul began to really pick up in terms of quality.

      8. Reet Kromel & Arne Lauri “Laule ja pilveid täis päev” (6/12)

      My first thought when I saw this was – oh lord, he’s in his freaky new-age stage get-up, and as he awkwardly bopped his way through the lengthy 30+ second intro, I felt my expectations for the rest of the performance quickly lowering. The song itself I really quite like – it sounds strangely fresh and contemporary, and effectively combines the immediacy of commercial pop-rock with some more interesting, atmospheric, new-agey ethno touches. However, the awkwardness of the live performance, not helped by Reet’s absence on stage (by the way, was she wearing a wig? She certainly looked a lot older than her hair), killed it a bit.

      I love how the camera cuts to the audience after each performance and accidentally reveals people who aren’t paying any attention to the show, and are talking amongst themselves…

      9. Tőnis Mägi – “Ballaad” (12/12)

      Apart from his dreadful haircut (thank god that style was left for dead by the 80’s revivalists), I find that there is little to fault here. Tőnis performed well, even if he over-emoted a little, and the instrumentation, which I loved even in the studio version, absolutely soared live(?). The structure and dynamics of the song are fantastic.

      10. Kirile Loo – “Maatütre tants” (12/12)

      If there was any song that I wanted to live in terms of presentation, it was this one, so it is a massive shame that Kirile didn’t turn up on stage. Still, the film we were presented with in place of a performance was interesting in its own right, even if the disco ball shots felt totally incongruous ;). Much like the “lyrics”, the random lighting shots felt atmospheric and contemplative – the meaninglessness providing a kind of negative space for you to project your own meaning on to. Pretentious art-school digressions aside, I think the song itself is absolutely fantastic – raw, authentic and primal in the best way, and completely detached from the pop sphere. It feels a little odd giving a mark to a performance where the performer was absent, but for what the presentation was, I find little here to fault.

      11. Sirje Medell – “Elust enesest” (7/12)

      A generic 90’s ballad that was performed pleasantly, even if Sirje looked rather stern throughout, and the saxophone solo was a nice addition. Not much else to say, really…

      12. Maarja-Liis Ilus & Ivo Linna – “Kaelakee hääl” (5/12)

      +1 point from my final 1996 score for the lack of a bopping Ivo. The song is cheesy and as camp as Christmas, but in a naïve rather than hateful way, and whilst I still find the dynamic of the duo a little off-putting, I do like the contrast between their voices. Maarja, like in her duet, totally over-performed here and looked rather fake and contrived. By no means a horror, but should never have won in such a year with some much stronger options.

      13. Tőnis Mägi – “Eestimaa euromehe laul” (4/12)

      Yep, the lip-synching was painfully obvious here, even from the beginning, where he is notably out of time. The song itself is far too tacky and cheesy for my taste, and Tőnis committed to the performance with a rather creepy amount of verve and vigor.

      • Eurolaul 1996 comment part 2:

        8. Reet Kromel & Arne Lauri – “Laule ja pilveid täis päev”: I was wrong. Arne was obviously a Hare Krishna already back then… But the song has grown on me and I really like it now. It’s such a calm and peaceful little song. A country ballad mixed with some Estonian folk. Once again, the absence of one of the singers is a bit disturbing the whole picture. And I thought it was Arne who did the jojk parts, but obviously not. That guy was never shown. (8/12)

        9. Tõnis Mägi – “Ballaad”: All in all, a great song. Just like “Me rõõm ei kao”, it’s a rather ungeneric ballad not following a clear musical line. The difference is that this one relies much more on power than a subtle style. The only downside I have with this is the one you mentioned: that Tõnis is a bit over-the-top in his performance, which doesn’t fit this song (more of that in 1998, sadly). But such nid-picking is unnecessary. The second best ESC-related Estonian song ever! ;) (12/12)

        10. Kirile Loo – “Maatütre tants”: Few Eurovision songs contain so much soul and inner power as this one. A wild, raw and savage piece of art with just constant jojk. For Swedish ears, it reminds rather much of Ronja the Robber’s Daughter. And this was indeed the song you really wanted to see a performance of. What we got instead was not that satisfying. Disco ball and neon lights is probably the last thing you would think of when you hear this one. At least we got to see Toomas Rull playing drums on stage… The only downside for me is the repetitive melody and the absence of lyrics (was this an effect of the almost instrumental “Nocturne“). Which is the reason I can’t give it top marks. (10/12)

        11. Sirje Medell – “Elust enesest”: The most generic song of the night. A typical Eurovision ballad of the 90’s. But it’s not bad, actually. It’s a nice and sweet song with an enjoyable performance of Sirje. (7/12)

        12. Maarja-Liis Ilus & Ivo Linna – “Kaelakee hääl”: Time for the big disagreement. I honestly fail to see anything bad in this song. I think it’s a lovely little song; an endearing composition containing both sadness, lamenting and comforting joy. The lyrics are sort of picturing a childish point of view but in a very rich narrating. And the last thing; the two different voices of Ivo and Maarja-Liis blend together perfectly. And for once, I actually like that Ivo is just on the screen. Because it pictures the theme of the song in a surprisingly good way. (10/12)

        13. Tõnis Mägi – “Eestimaa euromehe laul”: Time for disagreeing again. This one was the one that lifted most of all “live” imo. Mostly because the song itself gives so much space for a good stage show. This time, Mr. Mägi’s way of performing worked much better. The song itself is a lively but yet heavy march song with a clear, clever tongue-in-cheek aspect, typical of the late and great Alo Mattiisen. (8/12)

        The interval act deserves some comments too. And once again, it’s a lot of Estonian school children who were responsible for the entertainment. But while it was just awkward in 1994, it’s so incredibly bizarre this time that it goes the whole way around and becomes sort of entertaining imo. They are doing Estonian versions of earlier ESC winners, everyone performed in the same arrangement and the same tempo, a simple electro beat. To hear a song like “Non ho l’èta” be performed in that way is just… wow. And I love the girl who was doing “Waterloo” and gave a look in the beginning of the performance, looking as if she was thinking “Oh dear, do I really need to do this”. :D

    • “Kadri Hunt – “Me rõõm ei kao”: The best ESC-related Estonian song ever!”

      That is probably the first time that we agree on anything regarding Estonia in the 90s. ;)

      • I guessed that Kadri Hunt was toggie stuff. Glad there is some common sense concerning Estonia in the 90’s. ;)

  9. This set of questions was far easier than the first. I knew 8 and 10 right off the bat and 4 came after some thinking. I will just say this about 7, it’s easy if you know how and where to look. I didn’t Google it, I promise! I’m pretty sure I got three of the five neutral countries for question 6 as well as the 12 point question. Questions 1, 2, 3, and 5 were total guesses. Hoping for the best! :)

    • it’s insane, number 3 no one, just no one got it, i guess it should have been the 12 pt (though that one only 3 out of 9 people got it) when everyone got number 4!

      • After some quick searching, I’m irked that I didn’t put my guess for 3 into 2 because I would’ve been right! Also, having verified the true identity of number 7, I feel quite stupid. :) The phrasing of Question 4 made it a bit more predictable, but it’s no surprise that everyone got it. Question 1 was frustrating since I was about to put the correct person, then changed at the last minute. Also, what’s the breakdown for when someone gets parts of an answer list right, because I got two of the five countries on question 6, so it would be nice to have the “official protocol” for my personal scorecard. ;)

        • ahah, someone got 4 out of 5! i didnt give him or her any point! but to be fair, at the end of the week, we’ll announce only the winner, not a ranking of people because this isnt about who has more culture than whom? But with the full answers revealed, everyone can do the little math if he or she wants to know how well he or she did! getting 2 out of 5 on pure guess is good enough ;)

  10. Hey ppl! It’s my first comment here :)

    I want thank Sekhmet Morgan for this game. As always Eurovision websites dead cuz it’s summer season, but this place is still alive. :D It’s really funny game. I’ve sent my answers, too.. Well, most of them are just guesses.. :P But these questions are really difficult (especially pictures). Waiting for results! ;p

  11. I answed all the questions(of course,i was just guessing on the photo).I googled many of them,though.I only knew 3.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 7,755 other followers

