50 Comments

ET Awards 2013: Best Song!


Eurovision 2013 – Every year, the summer is a long season for the Eurovision community as there are no news coming out for the following edition so it’s the perfect time to do more games and contests! This year we introduce the “Eurovision Times Awards”, based on Oscars, to give prizes for the best in every category! And you get to vote!

2013 will be the first year for Eurovision Times to organize a new contest. After TEKO which takes place before the contest, from now on we will host the “Eurovision Times Awards” after the contest too. The principle is simple, in each categories, the staff of this website will nominate a few entries per categories and open polls for the public to vote in them so we can reveal afterwards all the winners.

We have come a long way and this is the last award, the 18th award, the last in the “Result” category and it’s all coming down to “best song”, but it’s not an “Artistic” award, it’s not about performance, vocals, lyrics or melody. It’s all about all of these. Here are the recommendations:

  • 6 Norway
  • 5 Hungary
  • 4 France
  • 4 Italy
  • 4 Netherlands
  • 3  Denmark
  • 2 Greece
  • 1 Germany
  • 1Israel
  • 1 Moldova
  • 1 Montenegro
  • 1 Slovenia
  • 1 Ukraine

However, it’s down to the staff of Eurovision Times to choose the official nominees and it was difficult since there were so many different arguments for so many entries. As the most important award of them all, we decided, like in oscars, to have more nominees in this category and we decided that all 7 most recommended deserved, for many reasons, to be nominated (funny detail, all the 5 nominees for “best performance” are nominated here). Now, it’s up to you to vote in our poll below! You need to click on the country’s name to be redirected to the video of the song with the live eurovision performance. The nominees in alphabetical order are:

Denmark

6th in the recommendations, TEKO quarter finalist and Eurovision Winner

France

Tied 3rd in the recommendations and first in ET Awards nominations (8)

Greece

7th in the recommendations, TEKO finalist and 6th in Eurovision

Hungary

2nd in the recommendations, TEKO quarter finalist, tied 2nd in ET Awards nomination (7) and 10th in Eurovision

Italy

Tied 3rd in the recommendations, TEKO quarter finalist and 7th in Eurovision

Netherlands

Tied 3rd in the recommendations, TEKO winner and 9th in Eurovision

Norway

1st in the recommendations, TEKO 3rd, tied 2nd in ET Awards nomination (7) and 4th in Eurovision

Rules: this last poll will be open for a week. Next sunday, an article will announce the winner of the category and then another one will reveal the full results of each poll. Every IP gets only one vote, please do not cheat, do take in consideration to watch them all once last before voting and this time, do vote your favorite song! Of course, it’s pointless to vote only for your own country unless you’re really certain it should win. May the best win!

50 comments on “ET Awards 2013: Best Song!

  1. For fairness, I will not say which NF I myself voted for ;) I also wanna point out that with 6 nominations each, Denmark, Greece, Italy and Netherlands follow France (8), Hungary (7) and Norway (7), so we basically have in these 7 the most nominated entries in ET Awards: a nice to wrap things up! (And before people start pointing out that since I’m French it’s unfair France got most nominations, I’d like to point out if it’s got one more than the other 6 is because, unlike all the other 6 in here, it’s the only one that got a nomination for “most underrated”)…

  2. Italy, after some hesitation. The melody made me vote for it. The Netherlands, Fance, Norway and Hungary were also very good. Israel should have been here, imo.

  3. Here we go… the most important category of them all ;)

    Can I just say that all of the songs here (except perhaps Denmark) are deserving of the nod. France’s song was raw and gritty, and even if it didn’t build particularly well, it packed a hell of a punch. Greece’s song was authentic and loaded with zeal (or Zoul as Robin Jukhental might say ;)). Hungary’s song was fresh and contemporary, and an example of the rare brand of easy-listening that doesn’t directly equate with “dull”. Italy’s song was beautifully simple, and unfolds slowly and unassumingly in a seemingly effortless fashion. The Netherlands’ song was beautifully sombre, and complemented by very strong production.

    However, I voted for Norway. Production-wise “I Feed You My Love” was the most daring song of the 2013 contest and I really enjoyed the contrast between the noisy industrial and conventional pop sounds.

    This category is honestly anyone’s for the taking though, and I will be very interested to see who triumphs in the end…

    • Any early predictions (though you might want to qualify it once more fridas are announced)?

      • For this one I honestly have no idea…

        My best guess is Norway and the Netherlands at this stage, but then again they could suffer from people not voting for them because they’ve already won awards

  4. YAY with exactly the 15th vote, everyone of them got at least one vote! Should be extremely exciting!

  5. “Kedvesem” is my favorite song this year, but objectively speaking “L’Enfer et Moi” is the best song. France gets my vote.

  6. MELODY/COMPOSITION – LYRICS – PERFORMANCE – VOCALS

    Greece : 9 – 12 – 10 – 10 = 41 pts
    Norway : 12 – 10 – 7 – 6 = 35 pts
    Hungary : 10 – 10 – 8 – 6 = 34 pts
    Netherlands : 10 + 9 + 6 + 9 = 34 pts
    Italy : 8 + 9 + 7 + 9 = 33 pts
    Denmark : 7 – 8 – 9 – 7 = 31 pts
    France : 7 – 6 – 7 – 10 = 30 pts

    To sum up , the best 2013 entry in my books ( melody/composition , lyrics , stage performance , vocals ) out of these 7 is Greece by a pretty much big margin !

    • I am adding some more worthy nominees for best entry in my books:

      Moldova : 12 – 9 – 10 – 10 = 41 pts
      Israel : 10 – 8 – 10 – 10 = 38 pts
      Montenegro : 12 – 8 – 10 – 7 = 37 pts
      Iceland : 7 – 7 – 10 – 10 = 34 pts
      Estonia : 9 – 9 – 7 – 9 = 34 pts
      Malta : 7 – 9 – 8 – 8 = 32 pts
      Azerbaijan : 7 – 7 – 12 – 6 = 32 pts
      Ukraine : 8 – 4 – 6 – 12 = 30 pts

      • So overall my top 15 for 2013 based on these criteria ( A)melody/composition , B)Lyrics , C)Stage performance , D)Live vocals ) is :

        1)Moldova = 41 pts
        2)Greece = 41 pts
        3)Israel = 38 pts
        4)Montenegro = 37 pts
        5)Norway = 35 pts
        6)Hungary = 34 pts
        7)Iceland = 34 pts
        8)Netherlands = 34 pts
        9)Estonia = 34 pts
        10)Italy = 33 pts
        11)Malta = 32 pts
        12)Azerbaijan = 32 pts
        13)Denmark = 31 pts
        14)Ukraine = 30 pts
        15)France = 30 pts

        I don’t think any other entry managed to impress me enough in any field in order to trouble a place in my top 15 ( meaning scoring more than 30 pts )

      • I’m surprised you award 12 pts to Zlata’s vocals.I remember you criticizing her for being soulless.Hmm…

        • Soulless performance goes to stage/overall performance which got 6 from me.
          She was technically flawless in vocal terms which is why she got my 12.

          • So,we just see things differently.When evaluating vocals,i don’t focus only on the technical qualities of the singer but also on how they interpret the meaning of the lyrics,how they’re able to comunicate what they’re singing about.

            • *communicate

            • I see , but big ballads based on great vocals , usually don’t use stage effects ore gimmicks so I decided to count interpretation as part of the stage performance/overall perforance.
              So for me it is one thing to be vocally flawless ( see Ukraine 13 ) and other thing to be able to communicate and perform ( see Israel 13 -> Goosebumbs ).

  7. My top 10 at the moment:

    1. Netherlands (12)
    2. Hungary (10)
    3. France (10)
    4. Denmark (9)
    5. Norway (9)
    6. Italy (9)
    7. Iceland (9)
    8. Ukraine (8)
    9. Greece (8)
    10. Azerbaijan (8)

    So my vote was for Netherlands.

  8. Denmark??? LOL

    I have to think about this one but perhaps my vote will go to Israel once again. ;)

    • But,Israel is not nominated in this category. :)

    • well ok you dont aprove of Denmark, and I agree it’s not among the best, but it’s an open poll for ALL kinds of Eurovision and I talked to different people who all thought the esc winner should get a nomination ;)

      • Relax, my friend, it was just a harmless joke …

        • What I was afraid the most of was that a lot of anonymous people who don’t care for ET would come and just pointlessly vote for Denmark or San Marino and this is why I hesitated nominating them before, but I’ve seen in polls that, while they dont reflect ET taste 100% (France and Greece are no where near as high in polls as in recommendations) it’s not either an OGAE mafia sort of results, just some people’s darlings… so I went with the flow: I wish I could nominate Estonia more myself or Latvia, and when I did nominate Latvia for most underrated (considering it got last for only three reasons: it was rap, it had a very bad draw and there were absolutely no neighbors in that semi), people moaned a lot… so yeah!

  9. “Birds” was my favourite song before the contest and it was also the one I voted for on the big night. But since I’ve watched the performances again afterwards, I’ve changed my mind a bit. Because of the astonishing performance from Amandine, “L’enfer et moi” has now climbed into the number one spot.

    So I think France will get my vote, though it’s really tight between them and The Netherlands.

  10. There are 4 songs i really like in this list,namely Norway,Denmark,Greece and Hungary.I ended up voting for Norway!

  11. my top 6 and the winner

    vote goes to hungary

  12. This one was between Italy, Greece and the Netherlands for me. In the end I decided to vote for ‘Birds’.

  13. I’ll be gone to Copenhagen for a couple of days. Obviously, the National Museum has the Eurovision trophy, so I might sneek in there and have a look.

    Take care, everybody! :)

    • Enjoy your visit to Copenhagen, Eulenspiegel! :)
      My greetings to Lille havfrue :P

    • Have a good time. I am off to BiH tomorrow … the weather forecast is terrible :(

      • Are you still considering that dive from the Old Bridge in Mostar? :P
        Btw, we had been having some weird weather lately here too :(

        • No, I had to promise my sister not to do it. Otherwise she would have locked me in. ;)

          I will probably only drive up to Mostar and return to the coast after that because the weather forecast for Sarajevo and Central Bosnia is hopeless. I am afraid that Sarajevo, Jajce, Travnik, Martin Brod and Kulen Vakuf will have to wait until I return. :(

          • How far is Mostar from the coast by car?

            • It is 2 hours from Dubrovnik. I am in the Radisson Blu Resort & Spa in Orasac (12 km from Dubrovnik) for the night. It is a hideous place … but there is very little to choose from in the area north of Dubrovnik. I have crazy things in my room like a bathtub with a panoramic view, a vanity table and a 4 meter long walk-in closet. I didn’t even unpack for one night … But I have a very nice view of the Elaphiti Islands at least. :)
              I plan to visit Stolac and Pocitelj on my way to Mostar though …

            • lol, I love the way you describe your room ;) :)
              Oh my, the names of all those places sound so beautiful.
              Btw, Dubrovnik, is a must visit place for me as well additionally for a very specific reason: it is mentioned in one of my all time favourite movies: “Rosemary’s Baby” :)

            • I love ‘Rosemary’s Baby’ too.
              Good night, dear oxi! Sleep tight!

            • Have a nice trip tomorrow, dear togravus! Good night to you too :)

    • As well as a plaster cast of her bare feet, by the way…

    • Take care! hope you’ll look at the fridas once you get home ;)

  14. Off-topic: New dates for ESC 2014. Now it’s 6, 8 and 10 May. http://www.dr.dk/melodigrandprix/Artikler/2014/20130707193356.htm

    • and some people say it’s to help boxen to do it?

      • Where have you heard that?

        • I read that a singer(Andre Riulle) will give a concert at Boxen on May 15,so they had to change the dates of esc…

          • It’s Andre Rieu, the classical violinist, who is performing at Boxen during what was ESC week on 15 May (confirmed by Boxen’s ticket office). Boxen have confirmed today that this concert is going ahead on that date and also confirmed the new ESC dates (venue not confirmed!)

            Think it looks now as though DR and EBU want Herning? Especially as they have said that they’ve changed the dates to accommodate all bidders – if Herning WASN’T a serious consideration, this would have been an easy way of knocking Boxen out of the race, wouldn’t it?

            My money is now on Herning – think I’ll start learning more about it:

            http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Herning

  15. Hard one out of Norway and Greece but…i’m gonna have to give it to Ellas this time, i luved their entry this year and i’ll support them all the way. I really hope Denmark don’t win – as far as i’m concerned, the televoting didn’t put them as the winner.

  16. […] can click here to look at the full recommendations and nominations from last week’s article! There were 34 recommendations for 13 countries in the first round and 171 votes were cashed in an […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 7,756 other followers

